Our trustees

Professor John Holman
John Holman is Emeritus Professor of Chemistry at the University of York. He is senior adviser in Education at the Wellcome Trust and the Gatsby Foundation and author of Gatsby’s Good Career Guidance report. He is Immediate Past President of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Chair of the Teacher Development Trust and a Trustee of the Natural History Museum. He was the founding Director of the National Science Learning Centre and adviser in STEM education to the English government from 2006 to 2010.

John was Headteacher of Watford Grammar School for Boys from 1994 to 2000, when he became Salters’ Professor of Science Education at the University of York. John has taught, created curricula and written books for science learners of most ages in the UK and overseas. He was knighted in 2010 for Services to Education.

Anne-Marie Canning
Anne-Marie Canning is Director of Social Mobility and Student Success at King’s College London. In this role, she provides leadership and strategic direction for full lifecycle widening participation across the institution. Anne-Marie is currently leading a project with the Cabinet Office examining whether behavioural insights can improve the experience and outcomes of non-traditional learners at university.

Anne-Marie is a member of the Universities UK Ministerial Advisory Group and recently served as Chair of the Russell Group Widening Participation Association.

Deb Conner
Deb Conner is Chief Operating Officer at the Social Mobility Foundation. Previously, her work at KPMG included the development of Access Accountancy, a profession-wide initiative to improve access to employment. She has recently completed an MST in Sustainability Leadership at Cambridge University; her dissertation explored the connection between socio-economic background and access to training roles in professional services. Deb is Chair of Governors at Elm Court School in Lambeth, a Director of SGOSS, a member of the Career Academy UK curriculum advisory board, trustee of Access Professions, and she sits on the steering group of Access Accountancy.  Debs is currently a member of the panel advising a study into the City’s role in supporting employability amongst young people in London, and of the working group of the Judicial Assistants Scheme.

Jude Heaton
Jude Heaton leads the programme work of Teach for Malaysia and, until recently led the access work of Teach First, a charity which trains and supports people with leadership potential to become inspirational teachers in schools in low-income communities across the UK.

Before joining Teach First, Jude worked in the Deputy Prime Minister’s research and analysis unit with a focus on social mobility.  She served as Alan Milburn’s lead advisor on access to the professions. This work culminated in the publication of two reports, ‘Fair Access to Professional Careers: A progress report’, and ‘University Challenge: how higher education can advance social mobility’.

Laura Yeates
Laura Yeates is the Head of Graduate Talent at global law firm Clifford Chance. Her work has won awards for innovation, and includes a scheme focusing on improving access to the legal profession and another tackling the stigma of mental health while building personal resilience.

With over ten years graduate recruitment experience and five years HR experience, she is a Fellow of the CIPD, a Board Director of the Association of Graduate Recruiters, a member of the National Student Pride Steering Committee and on the Advisory Board of The Apples & Pears Foundation.

Nathalie Walker
Nathalie Walker is CEO of the Dublin City University Educational Trust and responsible for its overall strategy and future development. Prior to joining DCU, Nathalie was Director of External Affairs at the Cambridge Judge Business School, managing all key externally facing activities for the business school, including alumni relations, fundraising, marketing, events, press and public relations and corporate relations. 

Nathalie is a key member of CASE, the professional body for advancement professionals, and chaired the European Institute in Alumni Relations for three years.